On one hand the film is a sincere attempt to present diasporic life as it is for hundreds of thousands of people; an in-between-life with emotional connections spanning over boarders, oceans and continents. On another hand, the characters are so shallow that I stoped caring for them. I could not really relate to any of them, except maybe for the nanny. The story developed in a slow tempo and there were not enough conflicts and/or issues between the characters for making me interested in knowing what would happen next. When things started happening, the film was already about to end.

Gael Garcia Bernal was of course - as always - nice to look at. In this film, he is however, in my opinion, far from the sexy, playful guy with a glimpse in his eye. I am not sure if his acting is bad or if the character is supposed to be as... lame as he is. I really don t know...

In sum, I am not sure what to think of the film, which makes me think even more about it. This is probably exactly what Moodyson has wanted.