I was following an incident taking place at the cosmetics department of Stockmann. A midle-aged woman and a sales person went through the hair color shells over and over again trying to find the right color for this demanding customer. The sales person patiently told about the different colors and compared the characteristics of the various labels. Together they tried out the suitability of the colors by putting the fake-hair testers close to the woman's face.

The woman was not really listening at the sales person, I could see. She was sort of becoming more and more confused. Finally, after 15 minutes she lost her nerves, turned to the patient sales woman and said. "I can t make up my mind, I just can t. Sometimes I get really paniqued because of all these small choices in life that I am forced to take. This is terrible... Even worse than choosing a new parfume. "

I felt sorry for the sales woman, who really had made an effort in presenting the products for the customer, but I sort of sympatized with the woman as well.

I am getting better at making fast choices as a consumer, but I am defenitely not an effective shopper. Many times it would feel so good just to leave the situation in times of insecurity, just as the woman customer did. I try to hang in and make the choice, since escaping only means postproning.

So, although I had my difficulties in choosing the right product as well, I left the shop with a product in my purse. The color was easy to use, but as always when I am trying to make my hair lighter - it somehow gets a shade of read in it. I have no idea where the read comes from. Not from the box at least.